The one thing that I noticed while running through the airport was that my husband taking little steps with an easy stride.  I was literally running to keep up with him. I thought, “my steps are not effective”. I was sweating profusely and know there has to be a better way and it is listed below:

1. Be organized. I spent way too much time looking for a credit card that I had dropped into my overstuffed wallet.

2. Keep a positive attitude. We were kept waiting more than an hour in baggage line and I was a little snippy with the overworked, pulled in every direction baggage agent that actually extended herself for us.

3. Take  time to re-dress. We stopped for 30 seconds to put our shoes on but forgot to retrieve our wallets from the carry-on bag and held up the line when purchasing beverages prior to boarding.

4. Learn the airport layout. We walked at a fast pace not knowing how far to the departure gate and passed our favorite juice bar which was on the way to our gate.

5. Pay attention to my own business. I overheard the gate attendant conversation with another passenger about an overstuffed carry-on that  I held up the line waiting for the agent to scrutinize my carry-on luggage.

6. Don’t be afraid of the toilet seat. We were bumped from our original flight and was lucky enough to get seats near the toilet on the alternate flight. Our seat mate ended up being a witty woman from San Diego with a parrot that reminded us to laugh.

